Injury update!

Good news and bad news. I’m not crazy, but I’m even more injured than I thought! Haha.

Let’s start with the concussion. My GP signed another 30 days off work. By that time it will be be May 23, 2017. I was injured on Jan.3, 2017. That’s almost 5 months off work.

My neurologist won’t let me return to work until my headaches are gone, which who knows when that will be, and when I finally do return to work, I’ll be on GRW (graduated return to work). GRW will look something like:

2 hour days (for a set amount of time). If I don’t have any headaches from this, I move onto 4 hour days, then 6, then 8. So I’m guessing my GRW will last at least 2 months. The problem is, I still can’t put a date on when I’m allowed to start GRW, as the headaches are still present. Furthermore, when I finally return to GRW, I can’t know if complications will set me back. What I’m saying is, I still have absolutely no idea when I can return to full duties.

My HSO (Health services officer) want’s me to start a concussion rehabilitation program as well. I haven’t heard any word on when that will begin, but I’m assuming they don’t want to wait too long.

My HSO also expedited a referral (one of the perks of my job) to receive an MRI, at the request of the neurologist. I’ve yet to receive word on that as well.

In the meantime, I’m somewhere in this nowhere place, with no idea how I’m doing. The only good thing right now is that my headaches aren’t as prominent as they used to be. The trouble with that is, I still don’t know what sets off a more painful headache. It would seem at this point that anything that causes me to focus too much (like court I have this upcoming  Tuesday where I’ll have to give testimony). I also know that too much stimulation, really anything in public, is no good. Then there are other times, when the headaches hit for no reason. I’m just at a loss right now.

Gaaaahh!!!

On to my second issue. I’ve had a nagging shoulder injury for the better part of a year. I was at the point where I was taking 4 extra strength ibuprofen every time I would work out. My body quickly got used to that, which made the ibuprofen not function as well.

To make matters worse, all this sitting at home hasn’t helped as much as I thought. Since I couldn’t workout, my shoulder wasn’t being aggravated, however, it was still painful.

I’ve been going to a physiotherapist for at least 2 years now, which hasn’t really done anything to help it – in their defense, how do you properly diagnose an issue based on someone telling you, “If I do this or this, it hurts.”

So, I finally talked to my GP about it and got a referral for an ultrasound. The results:

I have a small tear in part of my bicep and chronic bursitis.

IMG_20170426_100105_099

Yes, totally NOT awesome.

So the photo shows me and my bad shoulder (left) and two other photos (I never realized how pointy my elbows were).

As you can tell, the bicep has 2 heads which intersect through the shoulder. My tear is somewhere in one of the heads. I have no idea how I tore it, maybe it was caused through the bursitis?

The second photo shows the bursa. The bursa is a fluid filled sac, that has (in my shoulder anyway) become inflamed. What’s worse? Mine is chronic.

The only good thing about this is that now I know I’m not crazy, I actually have an injury, or two. My physiotherapist tells me lots of rest, along with ice can help manage it, but since the ultrasound shows ‘chronic,’ I’ll never really be over it.

I’m doing all sorts of goofy physiotherapy exercises, you know the ones I’m talking about, the ones we all hate to do because they feel so useless. Well, at least now I’m motivated to do them.

All this news has come at the perfect time as well, NOT! I’ve almost completely finished my home gym, I’m just waiting on the last few pieces of back ordered gear to arrive. So, at the moment, it’s mostly a glorified jungle gym for my two beautiful kiddos.

Is this the start of me losing the drive to stay fit? No, although I really could let it deflate that motivation. Instead, I’ll do everything physio asks, and simply learn another way. I’ll learn to properly manage it, to make sure any reoccurring issues aren’t from overuse (anymore), and to hopefully find exercises that work around it.

If I look at it like I’m learning, then maybe I can stay more positive about this ridiculousness.

Do you have any injuries that are holding you back?

Mr Average

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

