Home gym: Fitness mats!

Screenshot_2017-03-31-10-31-45

I’ve now purchased the mats I’ll be using! These are 3/4″ thick horse stall mats, each measuring 6’x4′. Obviously an 8’x4′ would have been much easier, but I wasn’t able to locate that size, ANYWHERE! Haha.

Since my platform will be 8’x8′ (with a 4’x’8 piece of plywood down the centre), I needed the mats in 8’x2′ lengths. That left me with a 4’x4′ piece, which I think is a good thing (I’ll get to that later).

Watching all sorts of YouTube videos on how people dealt with their rubbers (:p), I figured this would be fairly difficult, or more appropriately, labour intensive. It wasn’t.

I snapped a chalk line down the center, used a straight edge as a guide and started cutting. There was nothing difficult about it, at all. The only problem I had was the headaches it induced.

My straight edge was 4′ long, so that was quite handy. One knee on the straight edge, a few passes with the knife and viola!


*The most difficult part about the entire process: moving the 6’x4′ mats around. I had 2 options, either 1/2″ or 3/4″ thick. I wanted something that would last AND do a better job at protecting the floors, so 3/4″ it was. The difference was 75 lbs VS 100 lbs.

Now you might be saying to yourself, or maybe not, “75-100 lbs isn’t all that heavy,” well, you’d be both right and wrong. 75-100 lbs isn’t all that heavy, until the mat is flopping all over the place. I should have taken a video of this, you may have laughed. Don’t judge until you try moving one of these monsters on your own. *


 

Anyway, once I had almost cut through the mat, I placed a 2×4 (I only had a off-cuts available) under the mat. This helped bevel the edge so I could finish the cut easier, as well keep the knife from hitting the concrete.

After the first mat was cut, I took a break. I took some ibuprofen as well, it didn’t help, but I tried anyway.

Cutting the second mat took just as long, at least it was easy. The end result  is my 8’x2′ 3/4″ rubber mats, ready for the platform. Now I need to pick up 2 sheets of 3/4″ plywood (maybe OSB) and 1 sheet of 3/4″ sanded oak plywood. This will prove tricky, as I don’t have a truck…plywood on top of a car is safe, right? Haha.

Screenshot_2017-03-31-10-31-45

Arianna was so keen on helping me. Well, she was keen on the chalk. Taking the chalk that is, far, far away from me.

Screenshot_2017-03-31-10-33-45

Now I’m left with a 4’x4′ rubber mat. I think I’ll eventually cut it down into 2 strips of 4’x’2′. I’ll use these 2 strips outside on my driveway for those beautiful summer days when I want to take full advantage of the sun, as well as throw my weights around without worrying about destroying my house. The 4′ will actually be more room than I have on my platform, as the power rack will take a large majority of the real estate.

In case you missed my last post, here’s what I plan on putting on my oak plywood:

bent_barbell

Super cool right? Or is it just me…it’s just me. That’s okay, at least my girls still look up to me, haha.

-Mr Average

Leave a Reply

